There are many ways to interpret this saying.   Of course, I can talk about volunteering and service to others, but surprisingly, this time, I’m going in a different direction…kinda…  I am going to discuss something that is a bit taboo…our desire for praise and recognition!  Now, like any good world changer, I am not an active and engaged member of my community solely for recognition, and honestly, I am a little judgmental when I hear people talk about how good service makes them feel.  It’s almost like I have been trained to be so selfless that I am to deny and reject any need for praise and recognition.  Well, let me be the first to say that being selfless is physically exhausting and emotionally draining.  Sometimes I find myself helping others so much that I neglect my own work and health.  Serving others has become (both figuratively and literally) a job.  Though I do not do it for the recognition or the reward, I would be lying if I denied that like most people, I desire recognition and praise.  I like to know that I am doing a good job and that I am making a difference, and often that pat on the back or simple “Thank You” provides an extra bit of energy to keep going.   When did that become unacceptable?  When did a desire for praise make me weak?  Is that my sole reason for the work I do?  Do I need it everyday for everything I do?  Absolutely not, but it often provides the energy to keep doing it.   If I am feeling this way, then I know you probably are, too.  So here is the simple truth:  why don’t I tell you more often?  I lose nothing by offering you the praise and recognition you deserve (and even if it’s not deserved, I still lose nothing), but we both gain so much.  So let people have their moment and remember that sometimes a pat on the back, a “good job” or a simple “thank you” can give someone that extra little bit to keep on going or the motivation to do a little more.  Also, don’t be afraid to take a moment and give yourself the praise and recognition you deserve.

Now, I know what you might be thinking, “I don’t want to be conceited.”  So don’t be.  As I am sure we all know, there is a fine line between self-confidence and conceit.  Conceit is defined as “an excessively favorable opinion of one’s own ability” and self-confidence is “an awareness of one’s ability.”  Just don’t be excessive.  Be genuine and sincere in your praise of yourself and of others.   Typically, we label people as conceited when they relentlessly give themselves praise in front of everyone else.  However, I would argue that people do that because they just want someone else to recognize it too.  So just beat them to the punch.  Recognize their work with praise and accomplishment.  See what happens.  What do you have to lose?  Absolutely nothing!!   Recognizing the hard work, time and heart someone puts into something may provide the fuel he or she needs to do it again…or to do more.  Likewise, recognizing the work, time and heart you put into something may provide the fuel you need to do it again.

(Recently, I have been struggling with admitting my need for praise.  I have been dealing with an internal struggle between what I am supposed to feel and what I actually feel.  I knew there was a lesson to be learned through this struggle, and I honestly think it is that I lose nothing by helping someone else do or feel better.  It doesn’t change who I am, the work I do or the passion I have for others.  Likewise, a desire for praise doesn’t change the fact that I am still strong and confident.  It just means I am also human.)